STEVE REICH / KRISTJAN JÄRVI – Duet – CD2 – 88985366362


1.1 / Duet For Two Violins And String Orchestra / 5:37
1.2 / Clapping Music / 3:43
1.3 / The Four Sections: I. Strings / 13:25
1.4 / The Four Sections: II. Percussion / 2:51
1.5 / The Four Sections: III. Winds And Brass (With Strings) / 5:38
1.6 / The Four Sections: IV. Full Orchestra / 5:58
2.1 / Daniel Variations: I. I Saw A Dream 6:04
2.2 / Daniel Variations: II. My Name Is Daniel Pearl (I’m A Jewish American From Encino, California) / 7:47
2.3 / Daniel Variations: III. Let The Dream Fall Back On The Dreaded / 4:27
2.4 / Daniel Variations: IV. I Sure Hope Gabriel LIkes My Music, When The Day Is Done / 9:46
2.5 / You Are (Variations): I. You Are Wherever Your Thoughts Are / 12:50
2.6 / You Are (Variations): II. Shiviti Hashem L’Negdi / 4:18
2.7 / You Are (Variations): III. Explanations Come To And End Somewhere / 5:43
2.8 / You Are (Variations): IV. Ehmor M’Aht, V’Ahsay Harbay / 4:09

Duet presents some later gems for orchestra and orchestra and chorus in brand new versions.

Most important are the world premiere orchestral versions of “Daniel (Variations)” and “You Are (Variations),” two stunning works that manage to take further the interlocking pulsations of “Music for 18 Musicans,” the choral polyphonic extensions of “Tehillim” and the string writing of “Four Sections.”

An excellent version of the latter is included in the set, along with the short but captivating “Duet for Two Violins and String Orchestra.” As a kind of bonus, Steve and Kristjan give us a rousing version of the earlier “Clapping Music.”


This set evokes a world where Reich’s post-modern rhythmic lyricism is a mature entity of supreme originality and extraordinary power. It is OUR world, a testament to the seminal importance of Reich’s compositional mastery.

Unconditionally recommended! Happy 80th, Maestro Reich!

Grego Applegate Edwards / Gapplegate Classical-Modern Music Review

Partilhe este artigo
250 g


Ainda não existem avaliações.

Apenas clientes com sessão iniciada que compraram este produto podem deixar opinião.

REF: 0889853663620 Categoria: Etiqueta: