SONIC FICTION – Changing With The Times – CD – 86034-2


1 / Finlayson St 7 / 6:54
2 / Changing With The Times / 8:27
3 / Ringing Changes / 5:25
4 / The Greenway / 5:50
5 / 35 Today / 1:49
6 / The Rest / 5:18
7 / Dark Prelude / 2:04
8 / Mind Games / 8:44
9 / Remember / 4:47
10 / Tower / 3:51
11 / Street Scene / 6:34

Sonic Fiction is a Sydney, Australia based unit and quoting from the press release “…. Changing With The Times reflects the band’s meshing of new western art music, jazz and rock with geographical musical threads from Ghana, South India and Java.”

A fair summarization indeed; although, to their credit, Sonic Fiction incorporates some of the finer elements of the jazz-fusion movement sans the at times, glossy pyrotechnic gyrations and predictable chop fests. Basically, Sonic Fiction’s debut is extremely impressive and offers many thrills and unexpected or somewhat startling surprises comparable to someone dumping a bucket of ice water on your head. Needless to state, these fellows get to the point rather quickly!


Changing With The Times is mesmerizing yet enduringly gratifying. These guys play with conviction and it shows in glowing fashion as they sustain a high degree of interest yet play close attention to compositional form! Changing With The Times is a musical rubix cube! It’s vividly real …. perhaps brain-food for the adventurous or inquisitive as Sonic Fiction offer a refreshing slant on music that may mimic or feign Deja Vu; which in this case makes for a rather inviting listening experience…………* * * * *

Glenn Astarita / AllAboutJazz

Partilhe este artigo
150 g


Ainda não existem avaliações.

Apenas clientes com sessão iniciada que compraram este produto podem deixar opinião.

REF: 0747313603428 Categoria: Etiqueta:
Partilhe este artigo